Noxious Weed list

The following weeds have been declared noxious for the purpose of North Dakota Century Code chapeter 4.1-47.

Absinth wormwood (Artemisia absinthium L.)

Canada thistle (Cirsium arvense (L.) Scop.)

Dalmation toadflax (Linaria genistifolia spp. dalmatica)

Diffuse knapweed (Centaurea diffusa Lam.)

Houndstongue ( Cynoglossum officinale L.)

Leafy spurge (Euphorbia esula L.)

Musk thistle (Carduus nutans L.)

Palmer Amaranth (Amaranthus palmeri)

Purple loosestrife (Lythrum salicaria L., Lythrum virgatum L. and all cultivars)

Russian knapweed (Centaurea repens L.)

Saltcedar (Tamarisk spp.)

Spotted knapweed (Centaurea maculosa Lam.)

Yellow toadflax (Linaria vulgaris)


The Walsh County weed board has chosen to also have the following on the county’s list:

False Chamomile (Matricaria chamomilla L.)




Identification and Control of INVASIVE AND TROUBLESOM WEEDS in North Dakota